Unpacking the New Mexican Folk Art Shipment from Mexico!

Remember a few short weeks ago, I was in Taxco, and other cities hunting for new Mexican folk art, Mexican silver jewelry and beautiful handmade Mexican crafts? The shipment has arrived! And now I’m slowly unpacking, pricing and doing the paper work of keeping track of over 700 items that I purchased for Dia de Los Muertos and the holiday season. I’m starting to put a few things out in the shop and eventually hope to get many of them on the website.

There are LOTS of beautiful Mexican talavera ceramics but I haven’t reached those yet (next week, I hope!). Here you can see a few things that are in the Mexican religious category (the upside down saint with the inscription, ” Beautiful Tonito, send me a man who wants to be my husband”), a couple of ceramics (the Capula pitcher and the talavera canisters) and a couple of pieces of gorgeous .925 Mexican silver jewelry. Also, a bunch of new small Mexican glass pitchers and wineglasses!

People ask me all the time if I have a favorite destination in Mexico. I can honestly say that I truly love all of the great country of Mexico but I especially love the regions that make handmade Mexican crafts–Guerrero, Jalisco, Michoacan, Guanajuato, Puebla, Oaxaca, Chiapas and the Federal District. One can find Mexican folk art almost anywhere, including the coasts and resort towns, but I prefer to hunt it down in the small towns, workshops, markets and coops in the central regions. I also prefer buying directly from the artisan whenever I can and personally selecting the most unusual and beautiful pieces of Mexican folk art.

None of these things are on the website–they are either too fragile for shipping or I just haven’t gotten around to it yet but if you are interested in something in these photos, just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and I’ll get back to you! Or if you click on the photos you’ll be taken to the Zinnia Folk Arts Online Shop so you can see what IS on the website!

Saludos!

Anne from Zinnia Folk Arts

Religious Mexican Folk Art

Mexican folk art

Mexican crafts, Mexican folk art

Handmade Mexican Crafts

Talavera Mexican Crafts

Silver Jewelry from Mexico

Mexican silver jewelry, Earrings from Mexico

Mexican silver jewelry, Taxco jewelry

